Sprint triathlon on Saturday, 2-mile swim race on Sunday?  Sure!

A couple months ago I started thinking that maybe it was time to do another triathlon.  SPRINT triathlon, that is, nothing too crazy.  Heck, it had been a couple years since I did the whole 3-event thing on my own.  Last year I stayed Escape the Cape 2015in my swimming rut and only did relays.  In, out, done, hang out and cheer.  I really like swimming on tri relays!

What changed?  Why now?  Well, I AM on a tri team after all… I guess I decided a tri was possible since I started running again a few months ago.  Not much and not fast, but enough to make it through a 5k.  How bad could it be?  As I often tell people who balk at running, you can always walk if necessary!  Would I walk?  No (although it probably looks  like I’m  walking and not running sometimes), but it’s nice to know the option exists.

The tri:  Escape the Cape put on by Max Performance on June 13th.  LOVE Max Performance races.  Really well run.  This one took place  in Onset Beach, MA, right at the beginning  of Cape Cod.  Point-to-point 1/3 mile swim, 10 mile bike, 5k run.  Other than a short hill on the run, both the bike and run courses were  flat, flat, flat.  It was a little windy this year, but not too bad (oh right, blame the wind).

I did this race 3 years ago so I could compare that race to this one.  I expected to be a little slower, and I was, but only by about 2 minutes.  I can live with that.

The swim:  The next day was sunny and beautiful.  I signed up to do a  2-mile race at Lake Terramuggus in Marlboroughduck buoy, CT.  I swam  this event last year without a wetsuit, but it was a month earlier this time around, so I decided to wear my shorty.  I was kind of sick – or maybe it was allergies – and just wanted to cruise the course as a recovery swim from the tri the day before.  Best laid plans… First loop, nice and smooth and strong, passing people here and there.  And then.  AND THEN!  I noticed I was pretty even with another woman for most of the first loop.  Well!  That just wouldn’t do.  So much for not racing, I HAD to stay ahead of her.  Damn competitive tendencies!  Granted I was wearing a wetsuit, and who knows if the course was exactly the same, but I was about 7 minutes faster this year!  Where did that come from?!

So what’s next?  I’m thinking of doing another swim event next month – Pig Iron Swim  in Vernon, CT.  Maybe more than just the 2-miler.  We’ll see.  And there are a couple bike rides coming up – the Rapha Women’s 100, and a century in the Fall, so I need to start doing longer rides.  Sounds like a fun summer to me.  Happy Solstice!

