spiderweb suit

3rd AgonSwim suit arrived. Blue w/black spiderwebs. COOL!

I allowed myself to get talked into doing the One Hour Swim – I think I mentioned that in a previous post.  Well, I did it.  Phew, glad that’s over!  My goal was to do 4000 yds which is a 1:30/100 yd pace.  That seemed like an attainable, although challenging enough, goal.  The last time I did the OHS was probably 10 years ago and I went just over 4000 yds, if memory serves (why don’t I write these things down?!), so while I know I’ve been swimming fairly consistently, 10 years older is 10 years older!  So on January 13th, with the support of a good friend who diligently wrote down my splits, I took the plunge.  And, guess what?  I swam closer to a 1:25 pace and eked out 4225 yards!  I was pretty pleased.  An hour later and I was even able to move my arms around in a normal fashion.

USMS One Hour Swim:  the website is kind of crappy and scary looking, but basically, you swim as much as you want or can in one hour while someone takes down your 50 splits (cumulative splits.  There’s a form).  You have to be a USMS member, and there are some other rules about where you can swim – check out the site for details.  Swim continuously, or stop and start – it really doesn’t matter – yardage is yardage and it all adds up.  A couple people who have shoulder issues kicked for the hour (can’t imagine).  My regional team, New England Masters, seems to have some kind of rivalry with Davis Aquatic Masters in CA, so there’s always a big push to get as many people to swim the event as possible.  I think we won last year, so Davis is out to get us this year.

Looking ahead to race season… I’m all signed up for the season! I’m doing the swim part (fun part!) on 3 Team EnVision relays, all with my super fast cycling sister, and 3 different runners .

  1. Escape the Cape in June (brr, but only 1/3 mile swim)
  2. MASS State in July (Olympic distance, yeah! .9 mile swim)
  3. The Sharon in August (1/2 mile swim)
  4. Cranberry Olympic distance Aquabike also in August (not a relay, I get to bike on this one – we’ll see if that’s a good thing…)

I hadn’t planned on registering for events so early, but people started talking about what they were going to do, and relays were getting decided, so… LEAP.  No procrastinating.

Do you have your races figured out?

Read:  Thereby Hangs a Tail, Spencer Quinn.  Detective novel from the point of view of a dog.  So fun!

Oh, and EAT!  I made a variation of Frugal Feeding’s Onion Bhajis.   I added some shredded carrots and beets.  I don’t like to fry much, but for these?  totally worth it!

