Ask me if I’m doing a race, and I’ll probably say no.  Tell me you’re doing a race and ask if I want to join you and, depending on the event, I’ll probably say I’ll think about it, and then sign up (especially if it’s a swimming event).  What is it about knowing others in the fray?  In most races, I don’t even see the person I signed up with except for before and after.  Different age groups, different speeds, what have you.  It’s not exactly peer “pressure” – I like to think I’m an adult, so if I really don’t want to do something, I won’t.  I’m stubborn that way.  Ask my husband!  So why am I so sure I don’t want to compete, and then easily let myself get talked into stuff?!  And then, here’s the kicker, I have a great time!!!  …after being a wreck leading up to race-time, that is.

I signed up to do an olympic distance aquabike in August.  Hurray, no running!  And I think I’m committing to 2 tri relays over the summer – phew, just swimming:  the easy part!

Swim:  my usual pool has been closed this week.  ARGHH!!  I hope to get in the water before Cambridge Masters’ 100x100yds – Miles for Marly challenge on 12/31.  No, I’m not doing 100 of them.  I’ll shoot for around 50.  And then there’s the USMS 1-hour swim in January – see how far you can swim in one hour.  I haven’t done it in years.  I swore I wouldn’t do it again about 10 years ago.  But then a friend asked me to do it with her.  I’m such a marshmallow!  But it’s not like I wouldn’t swim more than an hour in any given practice, right?

Bike:  finally put my back-up bike on the trainer.  And I even rode it!  Wonder when that will happen again…?  Next week I go back to spin classes at my gym.

back-up bike on trainer

back-up bike set up and ready to ride. I even have cool new tie-dye socks!

Read (and eat!):  Just finished  Mapping the Edge, by Sarah Dunant.  Don’t bother.

Just started Fugitive Pieces, by Anne Michaels.  Wow.

Let Them Eat Vegan!, by Dreena Burton  It was a Christmas present.  Thanks, Shady!  A little daunting.  Lots of ingredients and involved recipes, but if the winter veg. pot pie is any indication, it will be worth the time and effort.  I’m vegetarian and trying to eat less dairy, so it’s helpful to see how vegans work around milk, eggs, and cheese.  Watch Vegucated if you get a chance.

Here’s to a Happy Healthy New Year!

